bringing your favorite mobile apps

Torrent Buddy V1.1 – Update after a long time

Finally I got some time to update “Torrent Buddy”. I didn’t touch this app since the first version and so far none of the users have complained. This app has got some great reviews and I thought I owe my customers an update (even though they didn’t ask for it :)).

So finally, I added some new features which hopefully you guys will like –

  1. Ability to add and remove trackers (not sure how useful it will be but somewhere I read some people wanted it).
  2. Ability to view your torrents based on labels (I think this is useful).
  3. Add or remove labels from a torrent.
  4. Change file priority with in a torrent.

So not too many but useful changes. I just submitted for certification but unfortunetly the site is acting again. The app seems to be stuck in “Ready for testing” state which I believe is a server issue. I hope it gets fixed soon so that you all can try this update.

Enjoy.

20 responses

  1. Neoxphuse

    any plans for controlling download/upload speed?

    January 4, 2011 at 10:41 am

    • yes, probably in the next release.

      January 4, 2011 at 10:42 am

      • rixlumb

        Utorrent has a setting for the minimum bitrate detection for the torrent to be active or not, as the application shows torrents active when they are not really, or very low bitrate.
        Will there be any other fields like date added/completed included in future?
        thanks RL

        January 17, 2011 at 12:11 pm

      • Yes, I will try to include these in the future releases.

        January 17, 2011 at 12:34 pm

  2. rixlumb

    I just purchased this after trying the demo, but it wont add new torrents.
    I have tried navigating through torrent site (have to zoom in somewhat as only works in portrait mode) to get to a torrent to grab, but a double tap just zooms backout on a HTC trophy.
    a single tap brings up the acknowledge box (the hint says ‘double tap’) which sometimes comes up when navigating torrent sites. Not sure what type of file the application is needing to send to the PC server. Also when checking the router logs I can see all the outgoing requests but there are no incoming ones. The router is set up correctly as I can add new torrents from a PC.

    January 17, 2011 at 10:51 am

    • Hi, if the link you are click is a .torrent extension file, torrentbuddy will recognize in the single tap and will ask to you confirm.
      Lot of website don’t have link which ends with .torrent and thus the first time you click, torrent buddy will not do anything. But if you click again on the link, it will understand that it’s a torrent link and send to your utorrent server.

      Lot of times, if you click on a navigation link twice, it will think you want it to add this as torrent and that’s why you see that.

      Hope this helps.
      thanks

      January 17, 2011 at 11:35 am

      • rixlumb

        Hi,
        The last time I tried to navigate to a list of torrents, the website had a ‘button’ for browse torrents. When I single tap the ‘browse’ button the app. asked me if I want to send the file xxx.xxx/index.php#
        This clearly is not a *.torrent file.
        When I actually get to a proper *.torrent file and say ‘yes’ to send to server (I have seen confirmation that it is being sent), it never seems to arrive at the PC server, although details are coming from the server to the utorrent application.
        MY Home IP address is tracked via dyndns and has a ‘domain name’ so my IP address is always known.
        If I need a cookie for the site, how would I know? would the site not give me the torrent file (its not an open site, have to be member, which i am).
        Also does app. use wifi network or mobile to send receive data, as after I have visited the torrent site and go back to the torrent list, I get the message ‘verifying connection’, does the app. disconnect from the pc server when browsing for torrents, and if it is not connected , how/ when is the torrent file sent to server?
        I have tested this with wifi nearby and using just mobile connection, with the same result.

        January 17, 2011 at 1:56 pm

  3. rixlumb

    How do I know if cookie is needed in setup.
    The app. Asks if I want to load the named
    Torrent file (it is a *.torrent)& also confirms it sending to the server pc.
    It never seems to get to the server pc?

    January 17, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    • If the torrent is not showing up, that means the server require cookies to setup correctly. If you server requires authentication, it means you need to setup cookies.

      January 17, 2011 at 1:42 pm

      • rixlumb

        Sorry, im not sure what you mean by ‘server’, Do you mean the torrent site server or the home PC server running the utorrent gui?
        When I visit the torrent site (galacticcentral.org) and login, I have checked the browser for the cookie, which is very very long, there would be no way to type this in manually and get it right, and WP7 doesnt have cut and paste YET 😦
        I dont know much about cookies, is all of it required or just part.
        RL

        January 17, 2011 at 2:11 pm

  4. I meant your torrent site server. If it requires authentication, then you need to specify cookies in torrent buddy for it to work. You can use some tool to see the browser cookie for the website and then would have to include some of the required one. Generally user and pw tokens are the ones mosstly required but there could be more.

    January 17, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    • rixlumb

      Hi again, here is a cookie from a site, with name changed but data untouched.
      Does all of this have to be added with a ; where the linefeeds are? including the *’s

      January 17, 2011 at 4:34 pm

  5. neoxphuse

    When is next update? Any plans for live tile maybe download progress?

    January 27, 2011 at 11:50 pm

  6. Jon

    Whenever I “add torrent” it says request sent to server, however the torrent is never added to my pc. Everything else works

    May 29, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    • You may want to check to make sure that you have specified the cookies if it’s a private server. That’s the only reason why it wouldn’t show up.

      May 29, 2011 at 9:24 pm

  7. Michael

    I’ve got last version trial. It was showing all my active torrents etc. So, I bought full version. Guess what? It fails to add new torrents! When I click to add torrent I see message “command was sent to server” and nothing happens. What should I do? I have buffalo NAS with built-in mu torrent.

    June 6, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    • Are you trying to add torrents from private server or public servers?
      For private servers, you will be required to specify cookie information.

      you can try to add some torrents from public servers to make sure that works.

      June 6, 2011 at 10:45 pm

  8. Curt

    Any chance to get the favorites reader to accept windows-1251 encoded XML? Right now that’s the difference for me on if its usable or not.

    June 25, 2011 at 7:51 am

  9. shubham

    Hi,
    Please fix the problem of data connection …whenever I open the app it shows the following caption ” no data connection available please check ur connection from settings”. Please fix this ASAP…

    April 12, 2013 at 8:46 am

  10. shubham

    Hi,
    Please fix the problem of data connection …whenever I open the app it shows the following caption ” no data connection available please check ur connection from settings”. Please fix this ASAP…

    April 12, 2013 at 8:48 am

Leave a Reply

