bringing your favorite mobile apps

Media Buddy V1.5 – update after long delay

I have been away from my windows phone development passion and its been almost 4 months since any update to any of my applications (except small bug fixes here and there).

Recently, I completed long pending feature of streaming music to Media Buddy. The version is available on marketplace for a week now.

Meanwhile, I am adding some new cool features on your recorded series as well. Now in the next version, you can have series view (with banners) and series detail view as well.

Here are some of the screenshots of the upcoming update  –

7 responses

  1. Jim Jankowski

    Love the app!! Can’t seem to get Music streaming to work, but video streaming works fine. I can browse Music but when I try to play I get an error indicating ‘playback failed’. Do I need to forward adifferent pory for Music streaming?

    May 11, 2011 at 8:34 am

    • hmm.. music streaming should work fine (it doesn’t require any additional port forwarding).
      Can you make sure you are not connected to your PC (Zune) when trying to play? Video/Audio playback is not supported by windows phone when connected to Zune.

      Other than that, the music file format might be another issue. Can you try closign down the app, launching again and selecting some other music/albums?

      thanks

      May 11, 2011 at 9:33 am

  2. Jim Jankowski

    OK, figured it out. MP3’s play OK but 99% of my music is in WMA format which fails. Ideas?

    May 11, 2011 at 9:51 am

    • Ahh.. Yeah.. Currently there is a limitation on windows phone media pipeline that make it harder. But I will look into this to see if there is some way to support this.

      Thanks,

      May 11, 2011 at 10:38 am

  3. David

    I can’t seem to find a difinitive answer posted anywhere. You can stream recorded TV however have you added the ability to stream your video library?

    May 13, 2011 at 10:03 am

    • No, this is not implemented yet as the stable version of remote potato doesn’t support sharing of video library yet. The tech-prev does but I want to wait for it to be stable.

      May 13, 2011 at 10:52 am

      • David

        Keep us updated as you are doing cool things and I can’t wait for the video library support!

        May 13, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Leave a Reply

